Goodbye to a Good Man

We are a good man down. Phil Batty left us on February 13. And, this makes me terribly sad. He was a sweet, gentle, happy soul. I was honoured to be asked to speak at his Celebration and I hope my words did him proud.

CELEBRATING PHIL

Today I am proud to stand here and honour my friend.

I met Phil Batty just over 10 years ago and knew at once that he was good people.  When my husband and I first moved into the neighbourhood, directly across the street from the Batty’s actually, Phil was one of the first people in the neighbourhood to say ‘G’day’ and welcome us.

That was probably because Phil was always outside! 

If he wasn’t out for a run or doing his morning exercises he was mowing the grass, trimming the bushes, cleaning up the gardens, or edging the front lawn. And, when that was all done, he was sweeping the driveway or washing the car or taking in the groceries.

We would have short neighbourly chats when I took our dog Buzz on his daily walks.  To be honest I’m not sure who Phil was happier to see, me, or the dog. Buzz sure loved seeing him. He took all the pats Phil would give and then he’d ask for more. 

I’m a firm believer that dogs are the best judge of character and our Buzz loved him from the start.

Phil loved a good chat with many of the neighbours and he always had a smile and good word to say. His attitude was one of contagious positivity and because of that he was instantly likable.

It wasn’t long at all until our footpath chats grew into a friendship. 

When Lorraine and Phil attended our house-warming party, I remember Phil being so excited to give us a gift that WE have treasured ever since.  He gave us a book that told the history of Revesby, how it evolved, how it grew, and it was complete with photos and news stories of the evolution of the suburb we now called home. It was a place where Phil had witnessed many of these changes first hand.

I think Phil was proud of his Revesby roots.  He spent most of his life in our suburb near the train line.  He grew up there, went to school there and he and Lorraine raised Lauren and Grant and more than a few fur-babies there. Judging by the photos that hung on the walls and the stories they’d all tell, the Batty family made many happy memories there on Sphinx Avenue.

One thing is for sure, Phil’s love for family was undeniable.  You could see the love he had for Lorraine in every action and with every word he spoke to and about her.  He was also a very proud father. He was proud of the people both Lauren and Grant have become, he loved them and wanted the very best for them. And he was happy that they had both found love and were now making great memories with their own families. And Luke, he was honoured to be your Grandfather and to share in your growing love of sports and enjoyed watching you play.

Even though Phil had some health challenges over the past few years, he took those in typical Phil stride and with continued dedication, effort and a positive mindset, gave recovery his all.

I’m not sure which he loved more, his fitness regime or his canine companions.  But I saw first hand how much love he had four our Golden Retriever Buzz. So much so that Buzz would sit by the front window watching for any signs of his “Papa Phil’ across the street. We could tell when he had actually spotted him, for first his tail would start wagging in excitement and then his whole body would follow.

We were lucky to have shared lots of fun times with Battys.  We had BBQs and dinners together, celebrated birthdays, Christmases and even looked after each other’s pets when the others went on holiday.  I think Buzz was excited to see Chris and I leave so he could spend more time with Phil. Felix, on the other hand, I think he was just happy he got fed!

Chris and I grew to know the whole family and share in their lives and they in ours.  So I guess I wrong when I started my talk saying that I was honouring a friend. For Phil was far more like family.  And, as it is with family, we are deeply grieving his passing. For life won’t be the same without him in it.

So, Phil, you are loved.  We will miss you and we are grateful for the imprints you made on our hearts. I don’t know what comes after our time on earth but my own personal hope for you is that you are in a place surrounded by dogs and all of nature’s beauty, with the sun shining on your smiling face, where you can dive into the ocean whenever you wish and when you return to shore you can eat as many prawn cutlets and slices of lemon meringue pie as you desire, and wash them down with an ice cold cider!

Phil, you were a fabulous example of tenacity, courage, love, compassion, and  friendship and you were able to take great joy in the simple things in life. 

Thank you for being a shining light in my life. I will miss your spark.  But know this, every time I look across the street I will think of you and treasure the warm-hearted person I was lucky enough to call neighbour, friend and family, and I will fondly recall the memories we made together. 

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close