Cabbage Roll Casserole

IMG_7955

There were lots of family favourite dishes in our house growing up and one of those was cabbage rolls.

My mother made the absolute best one. Then, later, after she died, my father tried his hand and got pretty darned good too.

I love the taste, but I’ve never been one to be too fussy about things that require too much “preparation” – all that rolling… who has the patience for that? Ne pas moi!

If you know me, you also know that this is not the sort of food I’d normally make. But, it’s all about the doing things differently so, that’s what I’m doing.

Today I decided that I’d do cabbage rolls differently. First of all, I used purple cabbage instead of green.  I found a fabulous one at the market last weekend so this is what put me on this path in the first place.

Then instead of making the filling and softening the full leaves (which always tear) I made a casserole.

It consisted of a layer of grated purple cabbage softened, then a layer of tomato rice (precooked), then a layer of cooked beef mince and onions, then more tomato sauce,  then another layer of purple cabbage followed by a layer of bacon on top and some additional tomato sauce near the end.

(Okay, it’s not pretty. I can see that.)

But, if the smell wafting throughout the house is anything to go by, it should be pretty tasty.

I’m off for a taste!

 

Leave a Reply

