A Brief City Escape

For today’s DID I spent the night in a different bed!

Before the rumours start. Let me explain.

Chris was chosen as part of a selective team from ANZ that was invited to attend the Google for Education Trainer Network. I think their focus will be on Google Earth. Part of this involves bringing people physically together. So, he was invited to come into town and stay with them at the funky Ovolo Hotel in Darling Harbour for a couple of nights.

Given how much my husband travels and that I’ll be gone for a month soon, I wanted to minimise the time we’re apart. So, I joined him at the hotel.

I didn’t take him away from his work commitments or the social ones either. In fact, I didn’t even tag along on their evening out.

What I did instead was get to experience a fabulous little hotel with a refreshing and vibrant personality. The Ovolo offers a free in-room mini bar, free and fast wifi, a direct email to the CEO for feedback, a free happy hour with drinks and snacks, iPads in the rooms, and the most hospitable and friendly staff I’ve seen in Sydney. And this is all located in an old woodshed building with an inviting urban decor. You can almost feel the history emanating from the exposed brick throughout the building.

See for yourself.

And, the hotel’s location placed me within walking distance of a few VIVID precincts –  Darling Harbour, Tumbalong Park and Barangaroo.

So, for today’s DID I seized the opportunity that presented itself, spent the night with my husband (well sort of – he joined his tribe, I racked up over 17,000 steps on my FitBit) and got to explore the colourful display that is VIVID.

Here’s a sampling.

But, seriously, if you’re in Sydney – get out there and see VIVID for yourself!

 

Leave a Reply

