Time To Meditate

meditate

It was 10:48 pm and I hadn’t done anything different today. I didn’t have much time. And, my options were rather limited at this late hour.

I decided that I’d take a few minutes and try meditation.

Meditation is a practice where an individual trains the mind or induces a mode of consciousness, either to realize some benefit or for the mind to simply acknowledge its content without becoming identified with that content,[1] or as an end in itself.[2]

The term meditation refers to a broad variety of practices that includes techniques designed to promote relaxation, build internal energy or life force (qi, ki, prana, etc.) and develop compassion,[3] love, patience, generosity, and forgiveness.

I used to meditate rather regularly quite a few years back when I managed a customer service team and we dealt with complaints all day. It was pretty much a necessity.

So tonight I got into my jim-jams, sat cross-legged on the bedroom floor, closed my eyes, and ‘ohm’d’ until I felt my mind drift into the state where managed to entertain a few thoughts at one time  – they were connected, then they weren’t, they were there, then they weren’t, they had no relation to each other, then they were all interconnected and melding into something new – the state was not unlike that feeling I have just before drifting off to sleep.

I wasn’t very good at blocking out the distractions but perhaps with a little more practice, I will be. I may just try this meditation thing again as I do remember now what great benefits I realised from it when it was a regular practice.

Maybe next time I’ll do it outside or near the ocean or with the sunrise.

Maybe you’d like to try it too!  This might help if you do.

start

Leave a Reply

