What Would You Have Done Differently?

over-to-you

For today’s ‘do it different’ I thought it was a good, and different, idea to turn it over to you.

Am I glad I did! On Facebook and Instagram I posed the question. “What one thing in your life do you wish you had done differently?” (the photo to the right was taken on the treadmill as I was multitasking my DID and my daily 15km).

On Facebook and Instagram I posed the question. “What one thing in your life do you wish you had done differently?”

The responses made for an intiguing discussion.

There were definitely those of us who could rhyme off a list of things they would have done differently. There were also those who supported the “I have no regrets” philosophy and accept that everything is as it should be and was done as it should have been done.

Then there were the astute who questioned the difference between the two, citing that wanting to have done things differently does not necessarily equate to having regrets.

I sit in the first and third camps. Now that I know better, I would have done a number of things very differently growing up – like I NEVER would have started smoking. I would have found a love of sports earlier. I would have been nicer to my parents and told them I loved them more. I would have moved out of home earlier, I would have drank less, and I wouldn’t have been so damned boy crazy. But I don’t regret that I did things the way that I did. I own my choices. I can accept that they were mine to make and being human, I’ve made some not-so-great ones. But knowing what I know now, I would make different choices. When we know better, we do better.

So, what would you have done differently, now that you know better? Anything?

If you’re curious as to how your answers stack up against others, have a read of the discussion thread. It is quite interesting.

Thanks to all who participated in it.

 

Instagram

  • abiwoldhuis@lajohannesson hmmmm I wish I had been braver earlier in my life…Let opportunities slip by because I didn’t think I could…Now I give it a go and learn along the way 😁
  • Delete Commentlajohannesson@abiwoldhuis that’s s good one – thanks for sharing 🙂

 

Facebook

Lauren Payne
Lauren Payne Travelled more..
Unlike · Reply · 1 · 22 hrs
Linda Johannesson
Linda Johannesson Anywhere in particular? Why?
Lauren Payne
Lauren Payne Actually Canada 🇨🇦 of all places.. and South Africa 🇿🇦– I just love love love the scenery as a person who enjoys taking Photos Canada is just Amazing when it comes to Scenery , Rocky Mountains , train trip,Jasper national park,Moraine Lake ,Journey Behind the Falls tour just to name a few. South Africa .. I would love to Go on a safari in the the Hluhluwe & Imfolozi National Park – I think you can also do glamping .. a few days amongst the wild I would love! River Cruise 🚢with the company Heritage they seem to organise a lot of things over there ,Dive with Great White Sharks – They have the biggest sharks over there and it would be amazing ! And just general tour that is safe and show a lot of scenery. Once Luke is Older I hope it might happen,even if it was a few oversea country’s .. I guess we are putting in the yards now to enjoy later.
Unlike · Reply · 1 · 21 hrs
Linda Johannesson
Linda Johannesson And I hope that you get to – I can vouch for Canada – It’s fabulous! Go!
Linda Johannesson
Write a reply…
 
Michael Field
Michael Field I wish for nothing as every decision has taught me something. And wishing I had done something differently creates the ‘sliding doors’ conundrum meaning I may not be here now having this online chat, Harry and Elisabeth may not exist and I may never have met Catherine Powell . I like the idea of challenging myself to respond differently in the future by doing things I normally wouldn’t do rather than wishing I’d done something in the past differently. But I’m a difficult bugger like that… 👍🏻
Unlike · Reply · 1 · 22 hrs
Linda Johannesson
Linda Johannesson Great way to address the conundrum. Do you wish you had come to this enlightenment sooner?
Like · Reply · 1 · 22 hrs
Michael Field
Michael Field Nope! Ignorance was bliss!
Linda Johannesson
Comments
Lauren Payne
Lauren Payne Travelled more..
Unlike · Reply · 1 · 22 hrs
Linda Johannesson
Linda Johannesson Anywhere in particular? Why?
Lauren Payne
Lauren Payne Actually Canada 🇨🇦 of all places.. and South Africa 🇿🇦– I just love love love the scenery as a person who enjoys taking Photos Canada is just Amazing when it comes to Scenery , Rocky Mountains , train trip,Jasper national park,Moraine Lake ,Journey Behind the Falls tour just to name a few. South Africa .. I would love to Go on a safari in the the Hluhluwe & Imfolozi National Park – I think you can also do glamping .. a few days amongst the wild I would love! River Cruise 🚢with the company Heritage they seem to organise a lot of things over there ,Dive with Great White Sharks – They have the biggest sharks over there and it would be amazing ! And just general tour that is safe and show a lot of scenery. Once Luke is Older I hope it might happen,even if it was a few oversea country’s .. I guess we are putting in the yards now to enjoy later.
Unlike · Reply · 1 · 21 hrs
Linda Johannesson
Linda Johannesson And I hope that you get to – I can vouch for Canada – It’s fabulous! Go!
Linda Johannesson
Write a reply…
 
Michael Field
Michael Field I wish for nothing as every decision has taught me something. And wishing I had done something differently creates the ‘sliding doors’ conundrum meaning I may not be here now having this online chat, Harry and Elisabeth may not exist and I may never have met Catherine Powell . I like the idea of challenging myself to respond differently in the future by doing things I normally wouldn’t do rather than wishing I’d done something in the past differently. But I’m a difficult bugger like that… 👍🏻
Unlike · Reply · 1 · 22 hrs
Linda Johannesson
Linda Johannesson Great way to address the conundrum. Do you wish you had come to this enlightenment sooner?
Like · Reply · 1 · 22 hrs
Michael Field
Michael Field Nope! Ignorance was bliss!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

