The Dance of Innocence

When was the last time you played in the pouring rain?

I can say it’s been a long time for me.

Until today!

As I was trying to get some video footage of the amazing lightning strikes the storm had brought with it, the idea came to me. My DID for today could be to embrace the storm and venture out in it rather than stay inside where it was nice and dry and just watch out the window until it passed.

With Chris filming “the proof”, I twirled around the front lawn as the large cool raindrops drenched my scalp, then my hair, then my face, then my shoulders, then my clothes. My toes were tickled by the wet blades of thirsty grass. This silly dance felt so refreshing. It also felt liberating and reminiscent of the pure unadulterated joy I felt embracing the simple things, like rain storms, as a child.

Just for a minute there, I became that five-year-old little girl who spent summer days from sunup to sundown outside. I was transformed into that nature loving, twinkly-eyed, chubby-cheeked child who didn’t know much about the world around her, but sure knew how to play in it.

Doing something different today took me back to a simpler time. It reminded me of just how incredible childhood innocence, how much I enjoyed it, and how quickly we lose it.

I’m glad I found it today, even if just for a moment.

My wish for the children of today is that they too get to enjoy it half as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

