To Mel and Back

While skimming Facebook posts yesterday I happened upon one featuring Mel Robbins who I had never heard of which I’m sure many of you in North America might find strange, but hey, we don’t get much CNN over her in Oz. The headline got my attention. I read, “This Woman Nails Why Motivation Is Garbage”. Hat tip to Michael Field for sharing.

The headline did what good headlines should. It reached out, grabbed my attention and caused me to act. “This Woman Nails Why Motivation Is Garbage”. I

So, I clicked the play button and found an articulate, authentic passionate woman who was delivering a message I needed to hear.

After watching only four minutes of her discussing feelings, motivation, goals,  thinking, biology, the brain, the mind, and the science behind our behaviour, I was hooked. I had to know more.  I found one of her recent interviews and sat with laptop open soaking in more of her cogent observations, insights and experiences.  I found Mel to be quite captivating and messages after message of hers resonated with me.

I figured they might with you too.

In this video, Mel discusses silence and hesitation, the spotlight effect. She shares why she believes that motivation is garbage, that we are one decision away from a totally different life and that your brain’s job is to protect you, and she even addresses the myth of confidence.

One of my favourite of her many gems is her version of the ‘5-second rule ‘- a learned practice designed to stop, reframe, and consciously change our habits and resulting actions.

So, after e-meeting Mel, hearing what she had to say, and pondering it a bit, my DID for today is going to be practising Mel’s ‘5-second rule’. You could say that I’ve gone to Mel and back.

I’ll let you know how I go with it.

And, if you happen to try it too, I’d love to hear about your experiences.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

