A New Personal Best

One of the big DID goals I have for all of 2017 is to increase my daily activity and get fitter not fatter as the year progresses.

Lucky for me I have a little band around my left wrist and a competitive nature that are working well together to ensure I do just that.

When I first began using my Fitbit in mid-November, I didn’t have any hard and fast goals. I just wanted to track more steps than I did the day before.

Then I got serious. I set a daily goal of 8,000 steps which ends up being between 5 or 6 km.

With some effort, I managed to meet that most days. Then Chris invited me to a few challenges. He won most of them but, I was a worthy competitor and I discovered how motivating they can be. Yes, my competitive side was coming out to play.

So, rather than just share the joy of competition with others, I began competing with myself. I raised my daily step goal to 10,000 steps.

I accepted a few more challenges and managed to clock 10,000+ steps most days (my longest run was 9 days in a row). My personal bests (PBs) came in at 11.7, then 12.8 and 12.9 – not too shabby.  I was inching toward 13K steps in one day.

I was benched yesterday and clocked only a deflating 2.3, so today I was raring to make up for it. And, make up for it I did. I accepted two new challenges and managed to pull into a far more respectable place in the big Workweek Hustle that the mighty Wacker had organised.

badge

As my head hit the pillow tonight, my feet and leg muscles felt sore, but I felt proud.

Today I accomplished a new PB. I clocked 15,236 steps in one day! And I accumulated a total of 103 minutes of activity (defined as moderate activity for 10 minutes or more)

I think tomorrow I’ll do two things – increase my daily step goal to 12K and treat myself to a foot massage!

 

Leave a Reply

