Put Off By Procrastination

I was  unsure about what to try as my daily DID today.

After toying with getting up early and driving to Cronulla to watch the sunset, taking a class at the gym, and getting on the train and stopping at some suburb I’ve never explored, I decided to just think a little more about it.

After toying with getting up early and driving to Cronulla to watch the sunrise, taking a class at the gym, or getting on the train and stopping at some suburb I’ve never explored, I decided to just think a little more about it and decide later.

As I usually do, I opened up the computer, grabbed my coffee and began my morning ritual of connecting, reading and posting online. I figured I’d just ponder what my DID would be for today while I did other things, and maybe it would come to me.

This got me thinking of how easy it is to put things off. How being a procrastinator is such a natural phenomenon, yet so ironic for for someone like me who also prides themselves on burning through a “to do” in record time list and “getting shit done”. I wondered what percentage of people were fellow procrastinators, what steps could be taken to avoid it, and what the secrets to ongoing, unwavering productivity were.

I entertained these thoughts as began the task of cleaning out my saved links in Facebook. While there weren’t as many saved links as there were unread messages in my inbox the other day, there were still far too many – they needed distilling.

It was there I found it.

I knew what I was going to do differently today. I was going to learn more about procrastination – why I do it, why others do, what can be done about it, and what few tips I can implement today to overcome it.

This idea originated from a link I’d saved about the funniest TED talks. This one by blogger, Tim Urban, caught my eye. I couldn’t put off watching this clip entitled, “Inside The Mind of a Master Procrastinator”. Could this be the mind mirror I was searching for just minutes before? Would it give me insight? It would at least make me laugh, so I decided to watch it and am glad I did.

You can too…

 

When it ended (and I stopped laughing)  I was determined to switch into action mode and do something, anything, to help myself overcome my natural tendencies to give in to the  “instant gratification monkey” and stay my productive course.

I found this powerful list of tips for overcoming procrastination.

In case, you just skipped the link and said, “I’ll look at this later.” here are some highlights:

  1. Don’t blow tasks out of proportion. …
  2. Stop all-or-nothing thinking. …
  3. Change your thinking from “have to” to “choose to”. …
  4. Break tasks down into smaller pieces. …
  5. Reward yourself. …
  6. Three questions to ask. …
  7. Keep track of how you spend your time. …
  8. Set a timer.

There are a total of 18 of them, so if you’re interested and want to learn the other 10, you’ll have to go back and click the link yourself ’cause my timer just went off.

Now, what needs to be done next?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

