Unread No More

Today I tried doing a variety of little things differently. My “Doing It Different” list for today

My list for today included:

  1. Making a fresh fruit salad for us for breakfast (can’t remember the last time I did this)
  2. Taking the dog for a walk in the morning, then I took myself for a much longer one in the afternoon.
  3. Reviewing many of my posts from last year and identified a few favourite idioms, quotes and phrases, and then printed two of them to frame and add to my motivation wall in my office
  4. Discovering a new NPR podcast that I’m looking forward to listening to regularly. It’s called “How I Built This” and it’s a podcast about innovators, entrepreneurs, and idealists, and the stories behind the movements they built.
  5. Turning off the holiday falling snow on this blog.
  6. Making a few changes to my Gmail inbox settings. The biggest change of all is one that I’m sure my husband (who has been far more bothered by it than I) will be happy to see. I no longer have 6,329 unread emails showing in my inbox. I Googled how to mark all unread messages as read and in a few easy steps, I did it. All on my own – I didn’t even have to ask Chris for help. Won’t he be surprised!

search_results_-_abroadabroadeh_gmail_com_-_gmail

So, a few minor differences all added up to a slightly different day. I wonder if they will also translate into my dreams tonight.

2 thoughts on “Unread No More

  1. Oh thank goodness for that! Iy used to drive me c.r.a.z.y every time I looked at your inbox! I could never understand why someone would have unread messages in their email. Or if the message were truly of no value and didn’t need to be read (just based on subject line, sender, etc) then why on earth were they being kept in the first place? I will sleep better at night knowing that you have dealt with it… although, the idea of you having 6,329 messages of so little value that you never even bothered to open them, but that are still being kept at all, kind of weirds me out a bit. Why Linda, Why!? Oh the humanity!

    Seriously though, take a look at this post by Merlin Mann, about Inbox Zero. http://www.43folders.com/izero It will change your life.

Leave a Reply

