Happy Holidays!

17.11.2016 – Day 322

Happy Holidays!

holidays.jpg

I used to get so angry when someone said Happy Holidays to me instead of Merry Christmas. This would often happen in the stores, at restaurants, at work, etc.

I’d think to myself, ‘I celebrate Christmas and I want you to say Merry Christmas’.   All my friends said Merry Christmas. My family said Merry Christmas. What was with all this political correctness?

And then I realized, that it was a practice that was just being inclusive. The shop clerk, the mail room guy, and the waiter don’t know my religion or beliefs. They don’t know whether I’m Muslim, Christian, Buddhist. or anything else. So rather than offend, they share a well-intentioned more generic, but more inclusive term, “Happy Holidays”.

When I’m with people who celebrate Christmas I say Merry Christmas, and so do they. If I know that a person is Jewish and is looking forward to Hanukkah, then, it’s “Happy Hanukkah”. When you know the person you can acknowledge their practices and I definitely support that.

So, the next time you’re expecting, Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy Quanzaa, or Merry Ramadan, and you hear, “happy holidays” instead, give the person saying it the benefit of the doubt.

Regardless of your practice, they are wishing you well. And, isn’t that the most important thing of all?

 

Leave a Reply

