Happy Thanksgiving!

10.10.2016 – Day 284

Happy Thanksgiving!

thanksgiving.jpgRemember that milestone Thanksgiving when you finally graduated to the adult table?

I don’t. We never really celebrated with a large family dinner because we weren’t a large family – and all of our relatives lived elsewhere. I remember as a kid that I would hear about these big family celebrations and a part of me wanted to experience that.

I imagined that it would be a very different celebration with lots of people, numerous tables, with some filled with adults and some with kids. I guess it really was a big deal when you finally paid your kid dues and you graduated to the adult table.

My reality was that there was only one table – adults and kids combined. Our table was full of fabulous food, gratitude, and love. We ate, we talked, we laughed, we gave thanks and we ate some more.

Regardless of what table you sit at these are the things that are  important – love and gratitude and the warm feeling that family brings.

Happy Thanksgiving to all of you. I am incredibly thankful for the memories I still carry in my heart of turkey, stuffing, pumpkin pie, my family, and our combined adult/child table.

 

Leave a Reply

