Social Media Isn’t a Popularity Contest

28.08.2016 – 240

Social Media Isn’t a Popularity Contest

my page

I post a lot on social media. Some think the amount I post is ridiculous, some others, post more than I do.If you know me, you also know that  I also am not afraid to voice an opinion, debate a topic, or challenge a thought publicly and on social media,just as I am willing to give a compliment, share a joke, pass along relevant information, introduce people,  or help others.

I think the word that best describes my social media personality is transparent. Others might describe it otherwise and that’s their prerogative. Everyone is entitled to be themselves on social media as they are in real life and I have no problem with that.

The social in social media means that we are able to relate to each other through another channel. Living so far away from so many great people in my life, I am thankful that technology helps to bridge the divide that lays physically between us.

In my prolific social updates, they will be stuff you love, and there will be stuff you hate, and I’ll continue to post it all, for it’s a place of expression for me. I post content that I’m interested in and hope that you are too, but I’m not doing it to win any popularity contests. They will be stuff you don’t like. You don’t have to read it, share it, or comment on it if you don’t like it, but it’ll remain there anyway.

At the end of the day, it’s my profile, my page, my social space and I’ll be true to my offline self and be that same person online. And, heck, if you know that going in, there shouldn’t be any surprises, right?

Leave a Reply

