TLDR

12.07.2016 – Day 194

TLDR

lazy

When I speak with my clients about content, we often debate the sheer volume of content that is appropriate in order to get their message across.

They, want to list every wonderful feature, every possible detail and often request copious amounts of content… all written in long paragraph form. (facepalm!)

Part of my job is to push back against including too much information. I need to point out that TLDR (too long, don’t read) became a well-known acronym for a reason. People have minute attention spans. I beat the, ‘less is more’ drum almost every day.

People have minute attention spans. I beat the, ‘less is more’ drum almost every day.

When I read this post, I laughed while thinking, “Haha. You got me.” Then I showed it to  Chris and, yup, got him too.

My only problem with it is, that it’s not just lazy people, it’s almost everyone.

We have become a society of scanners.

So, here’s some free communications advice from me to you.

If your message doesn’t pass the “at-a-glance” test, then it probably has no chance of getting through.

Don’t believe me? Just try to find someone who reads all 11 digits in this number.

I dare ya. I even double dog dare you!

 

Leave a Reply

