Exercise a Change of Perspective

25.06.2016 – Day 177

Exercise a Change of Perspective

exercise

Ding. Ding. Ding.

This quote rang alarm bells when I first read it.  I almost palmed myself in the forehead and screamed out loud, “Yes! That’s what I’ve been doing wrong!”

I’ve been looking at exercise all wrong. And, like anything, it’s all in the perception.

If you think about this post, and I mean really think about it, I think you may well come to the same ‘aha’ that I did.

Whether it’s walking, cross-fit, swimming, weight lifting, playing volleyball, or even dancing, the fact that you are able to exercise, is a gift. It means you have a body that is capable of movement. It’s strong. You have coordination. You have some skill. It also means that you are not bed-ridden, wheelchair-ridden, attached to a machine that keeps you alive. It means that you have a relatively healthy body.

So, yes, exercise should be a celebration of what your body can do. It’s not a curse. It’s not a punishment for eating excess calories. It’s not a chore, not something for the “to do” list, not something you should put off or grumble about doing.

To be able to move freely is truly is a gift. Ask any really sick person.

I hope that in seeing exercise in this new light, I can change my relationship with it. I hope that I can celebrate my physical abilities more. And, I hope in doing that that I will actually move more. I will try to translate this new knowledge into action and a changed perspective. And, maybe, you can too.

Of worthy note – the woman who originally posted this on Facebook is a fine example of practising  what she preaches. She is one of the happiest and most active people I know.  Perhaps that explains why she could honestly pass for 20 years younger than she actually is!

Leave a Reply

