Text, Text, Text – Doesn’t Anyone Talk Anymore?

28.05.2016 – Day 149

Text, Text, Text – Doesn’t Anyone Talk Anymore?

textableIn this world of mobile device and asynchronous communication, this may well be a question on many of our minds.

I admit that I have a tendency to text rather than talk for a few reasons.

They are:

  • I can get my thoughts down as I have them
  • I don’t have to wait for us both to be available for a conversation
  • I have a record of what’s been discussed
  • I don’t have to decipher accents in a text – my ability to decipher accents in person is much better than it is over the phone
  • I remember what I’ve read far more than what I hear
  • And it isn’t quite as sociable – guess that appeals to the growing introvert in me.
  • I prefer getting texts so that I have time to consider a response rather than perhaps being caught off guard. – I always think better in writing than I do on my feet.

Reading an article the other day that examined texting over phone calls, it shared these findings from a 2014 Gallup poll study:

Text messages now outrank phone calls as the dominant form of communication among Millennials. Fully 68% of 18- to 29-year-olds say that they texted “a lot” the previous day, which plunges to 47% among 30- to 49-year-olds and 26% among 50- to 64-year-olds.

With millennials continuing to drive this growing trend and the proliferation of additional devices and apps from which texting is possible. I suspect that talking via our mobile devices will continue to decline.

While this may not sit well with many of you for a lot of reasons, it does reiterate just how important a face to face conversation and in-person time is to ensure we don’t lose our ability to verbally interact, relate and connect on a deeper level.

So, all research aside, when initiating a dialogue, do you prefer to talk or text? Why?

 

 

Leave a Reply

