Our Colourful Reality

14.05.2016 – Day 135

Our Colourful Reality

purple ladybugs

I only wish it were true. Sometimes you see things online that stop you in your tracks. You scratch your head and ask yourself, ‘I’m a smart person, why did I not know about this before?’

Sometimes you see things online that stop you in your tracks. You scratch your head and think to  yourself, ‘I’m a smart person, why did I not know about this before?’

Often it’s because they just aren’t real.

Today we have the technological power to alter reality or, at the very least, our perceptions of reality. With expert photoshop skills and a wild imagination, there is no limit to the alternate visual realities one can create.

This brings up two interesting observations for me. One, I admittedly feel a tad silly every time I get sucked into believing one of these. And, two, I wonder just how much misinformation is now being shared, observed, and taken in as fact as a result of our new found reality-altering powers.

When I see some of these images, like these purple ladybugs, you know, the ones that make you actually stop and look, for more than a microsecond, there is that critical part of me that knows they’re not real, but there’s also that hopeful optimistic part that really wishes they were.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

