Don’t Expect My Resignation

07.05.2016 – Day 128

Don’t Expect My Resignation

 

acceptance

I love this quote mainly because I think a lot of us tend to make the mistake of equating acceptance and resignation. And there is a distinct distance as this quote points out.

The serenity prayer is repeating through my head as I type this and yes, we all need to be able to tell the difference between what we can change and what we cannot.

Besides saving yourself from profound frustration, I suspect that in  seeing this difference, we can stop squandering  emotional and physical energy and ultimately gain more power to devote to those things we can actually control.

I see acceptance as providing us with power and resignation as the surrender of it. And, I don’t know about you, but, on this one, I’m with William B.  (Buck) Travis who died during the battle of the Alamo,”I shall never surrender..”

Don’t expect my resignation.

 

Leave a Reply

