No Regrets, Okay, Maybe a Few

01.05.2016 – Day 122

No Regrets, Okay, Maybe a Few

regrets

Regrets. I’ve had a few. But, then again, too few to mention.

And I plan on having very few more.

I don’t want to get to the end of my life and have a long laundry list of the regrets I’ve accumulated over the years. Especially if those regrets are regrets of not doing something.

I’d far rather try something new, push the envelope, be outrageous and fail, then never take a chance! I’ll be okay if my regrets are of silly failures, stupid decisions, inappropriate actions. But, I won’t be okay if my regrets are tied to apathy and not trying, or fear that holds me back from exploring the unknown. I won’t be able to come to terms with regrets that start with, “I wish I had…” or “If only I did … when I had the chance.”

I hope that I can be more conscious of those moments that represent those decisions that could lead to regrets of things I didn’t do. I hope to be wise and willing enough to seize them and make them part of my precious memories list rather than my regret inventory.

In my final days, hopefully, a long, long time away yet. I’d like to happily sit on my front porch in my rocking chair thinking that “I faced it all and I stood tall” and rock along in time with Frank Sinatra’s, My Way.

I may even stand up and sing from the top of my lungs to anyone who’ll listen …

I’ve lived a life that’s full.

I’ve traveled each and every highway;

And more, much more than this,

I did it my way.

And then, I’ll hop on my Harley and go raise a ruckus in the neigbourhood!

Leave a Reply

