The Decisive Moment

29.03.2016 – Day 89

The Decisive Moment

bunny

Before the Easter season is gone for another year, I thought I’d share one of the funniest images I’ve seen this season.

As a photographer, I believe in Henri Cartier-Bresson’s theory of the importance of “the decisive moment”. He was considered the master of candid photography using 35 mm film (yes digital folks it was a very different experience).

One of the famous quotes attributed to him reads, “To me, photography is the simultaneous recognition, in a fraction of a second, of the significance of an event.”

And I agree. And as we ponder Easter and what it means to each of us, even if our interpretations are different, I think we can all agree that this photo, is proof of Cartier-Bresson’s theory.

While many photos can be good, it’s my feeling that only those that capture that decisive moment that can be truly spectacular, truly unique and truly memorable, just as this one so aptly demonstrates.

 

Leave a Reply

