If I Knew Then What I Know Now

18.01.2016 – Day 18
If I Knew Then What I Know Now

babyoil

Picture it.

The first few days of high school summer vacation. The sun is shining, the pool is full and sparkling. The backyard is scattered with chaise lounges, beach towels, lawn chairs all claimed by its own flake and baking teenager.

The boom box is playing “Silly Love Songs”, then, “Afternoon Delight”. The bottles of lemon juice and Sun-In get passed from one to the next. The sweet powdery smell of Johnson’s Baby Oil wafts from sunbather to sunbather, only to be interrupted by the pungent punctuation of another DuMaurier Light being fired up.

Circa 1976, this might well be a typical summer’s day in my teenage life.

If only I knew then what I know now.

We had no sunscreen, no concern for UVA and UVB rays, no idea just how bad smoking would be for our health and our skin. Yet, we also had no cares and no idea what cherished memories we’d be making on those long dog days of summer.

I’m thankful that at least up until now, these innocent yet reckless practices have not affected me too adversely. And luckily enough, I remain friends with a few of those young ladies whom I shared my backyard and summer vacations. They have grown into wonderful women, and cherished friends and for that I’ll be forever grateful!

Leave a Reply

