The Rest is Gravy

16.01.2016 – Day 16
The Rest is Gravy

BLESSING

I could complain about not seeing enough of the world. I could long for a bigger house, a better car, a higher paying job, a perfect body, or younger looking skin. Or, I could whine about not having social plans every weekend, pout about not being included in a dinner party or a weekend away, grumble about not hearing from a friend or, drone on about not being one of the first to visit the newest and trendiest spots in town.

OR

I can be grateful for exactly what it is that I currently have and count my many blessings.

I have a lovely home, a wonderful husband, a loving family, an adorable fur child, some fabulous friends, my health, a variety of skills, the opportunity to learn and travel and the freedom to pursue new interests.

I have everything that I need and more. Anything beyond that is just “gravy”.

So, I will continue to be grateful for life’s “banquet”. Should I be lucky enough to receive more, then, I’ll be thankful for that too.

I realise that I am incredibly fortunate and I am appreciative of the many blessings in my life and I hope that I never take them for granted.

My goal is to always enjoy the generous “meal” that is placed in front of me, savouring every bite… whether it comes with or without the “gravy”.

Leave a Reply

