Day 33 – Hatching a Plan

I took the train into the city today for a meeting and spent my commuting time drafting a colourful marketing plan for my equally colourful novel.

Marketing, promotion and distribution ideas have  been brewing in my brain for the past few months so it was time to pour them all together, mix ’em up and create a palatable concoction.

The approach I’ve employed is both integrated and comprehensive . It contains three key phases: product/brand development,  information/ecommerce infrastructure creation and aggressive marketing which will include integrated digital campaigns, PR, content marketing, community and conversation building.

What tools, activities, approaches would you like to see used in marketing a contemporary novel? I’d love to incorporate your ideas into the plan and it’s definitely not too late.

I’m happy with round one as I’m sure it’s as good or better than the big publishers can do, especially in the digital space.

Time will tell.

But, for my plan to work, I best get working my plan!

Leave a Reply

