For One More Day…

Today Oprah featured Mitch Albom, the author of the inspirational For One More Day (and Tuesdays with Morrie and The Five People You Meet in Heaven)

Half way through the show, I received an email learning that a friend’s Mother has passed. Yesterday I received another email from another friend suggesting that his Mother may not make it through the week.  The combination moved me to ponder the questions that Mitch asks in his book and Oprah examines in the Harpo movie production of For One More Day

What if you had one more day with someone you’ve lost?

Who would you want it to be? 

How would you spend one more day with someone you loved?

My answers were simple. I’d love to spend another day with my Grandmother. We’d most likely spend it in the kitchen. If I had one more day with her, I’d thank her for loving me, for showing an interest in our lives, even though she lived so far away. I’d thank her for the years of letters, phone calls, birthday cards and little gifts along the way.  I’d tell her how grateful I was for the comfort that came from cuddling up with her when I came to visit. I’d thank her for introducing me to my lifelong love for dogs, apple pie and perogies. I’d thank her for encouraging me to go to church, to cook and for teaching me how to grocery shop. I’d tell her how cool I thought she was – she was the first woman I ever saw drink beer and she was one of Cher’s biggest fans. I’d tell her that I miss her, I love her, I wish I had more days with her and that I’m very thankful for the love she brought to my childhood and my life.

Mitch’s questions certainly got me thinking. I hope they do the same for you. How would you answer them? And, while you’re at it, how would you answer one that I’ve added ….

Who, in my life, can I can appreciate like this today, while they’re still here?

Leave a Reply

